Book Haul Y’all

There is nothing I love more in this word than a new book! With it’s crease free spine, delicate pages and beautiful aroma BUT when you’ve got to fund an addiction on a budget you need to be thrifty! Charity shops offer an endless supply of enjoyment from hunting and sifting through shelves and shelves and stacks upon stacks of books to ultimately settling down with your haul in the comfort of your little book nook – and how can you say no to a book for 10p?

So in all the excitement of finishing my finial year of a Psychology degree and having regained part of my life I thought was lost forever, I went out and purchased no less than 33 books. Oooops. Under the guidence of my good friend and bad influence, Shannan (Twenty Something and Day Dreaming)  we hit the streets of Whitley Bay on the hunt for a bargain.

THE HAUL:

  1. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  2. The Boy In the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne
  3. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
  4. Life After You – Lucie Brownlee
  5. The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton
  6. The Mortal Instruments Series (1-6) – Cassandra Clare*
  7. The Bane Chronicles – Cassandra Clare
  8. Gone – Michael Grant
  9. The Abortionist’s Daughter – Elisabeth Hyde
  10. The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden – Jonas Jonasson
  11. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  12. Florence Foster Jenkins – Nicholas Martin & Jasper Rees
  13. Sheltering Rain – Joyo Moyes
  14. The Peacock Emporium – Jojo Moyes
  15. Before I Go – Colleen Oakley
  16. The Little Red Chairs – Edna O’Brien
  17. The Percy Jackson Series (1-5) – Rick Riordan*
  18. The Vampire Diaries (1-4) – L. J. Smith
  19. The Ice Twins – S. K. Tremayne
  20. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  21. The Watcher in the Shadows – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

*These were purchased at The Work as completed sets for £15 & £10 respectively.

IMG_4530IMG_4528IMG_4533

There were a few of the essential classics I am yet to read and obviously had to buy, but mostly I wanted to just broaden my horizon when It comes to reading so many I just picked up in hope I’ll enjoy. My grand total came just shy of £50, which makes each book about £1.50 – RESULT! Now I can rest easy for the summer knowing I have a degree in my pocket and many glorious stories to devour. Let me know what you think of this haul – any you’ve read or any suggestions of which I should be reading RIGHT NOW?

 

Bradley 🤓

Currently Reading: City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

18 thoughts on “Book Haul Y’all

  1. TSDDBlog says:

    Welcome to the blogging world, B 😊 ugh there are so many fab books in this little haul, and I am so excited to hear your views on a number of these books, especially the Mortal Instruments 😁 we will have to go book shopping again soon 😉 x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. siobhanfuller says:

    I have so much book envy right now, looks like you’ve got some amazing books lined up! 100% recommend The Miniaturist, it’s one of my favourites – little bit of mystery, little bit of magic, very atmospheric and fantastic writing style x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. shalini says:

        Yet to review. Read it last year.. But both his books were great ice twins was better than fire child.. I remember having book hangover after reading it… Its that good. I just started reviewing a week ago. But I have been reading for 40 years… But ice twins was different I read it at 1 go. Staying up late at night

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Naty says:

    Wow really amazing! And so cheap!! I just finished The Miniaturist today and was very unimpressed. Hope you like it better than I did. Pride and Prejudice is great, Boy in the striped pajamas too… great selection there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

