The Mortal Instruments Review 1/6

CITY OF BONES

I know I’m 10 years late but bear with me. I’m assuming many of you, like me, watched City of Bones and upon finishing it never watched it again. Never. This resulted in me putting off reading the books until about 5 days ago when I watched the first episode of Shadowhunters on Netflix and omgomgomg am I hooked. So I did the right thing and purchased the books – I’ve finished City of Bones and here is what I think…

City of Bones

To my surprise the book was pretty good! It vaguely resembled the movie therefore the movie no longer matters and all faith and balance has been restored to the world. It also differs from the Netflix series and for this I am also pleased because I can now go on through the series blind, so to speak – I have no knowledge of what to expect and this is only making me more excited for the next book.

The concept as a whole drew me in immediately; the idea that there is a whole other world among ours that we ‘mundanes’ can’t see is always fascinating; it isn’t the most original story line but it does the job. I quickly grew found of several characters (mainly Magnus Bane because who doesn’t love Magnus Bane, and Alec but only because of Matthew Daddario from Shadowhunters ๐Ÿ˜ – sue me, #Malec). Cassandra’s writing style has a great flow and a real sense of energy to it – during tense passages I found myself reading faster and faster in anticipation and my hatred for Valentine, oh believe me it’s real. By the Angel, I swear it.

Chapter 17 – The Midnight Flower was really really great. Amidst the chaos of the impending war between The Clave (the “good”), The Circle (The “bad”) and the Downworlders (the down-right cool), you get such a sense of tranquility and peace, which is a pleasure to read.

“When Jace opened the greenhouse door, the scent hit Clary, soft as the padded blow of a cats paw: the rich dark smell of the earth and the stronger, soapy scent of night-blooming flowers–moonflowers, white angel’s trumpets, four o’clock’s–and some she didn’t recognise, like a plant bearing a star-shaped yellow blossom whose petals were medallioned with golden pollen. Through the glass walls of the enclosure she could see the lights of Manhattan burning like cold jewels.” (17:327)

When I read this passage I was there. I could smell the moonflowers and I could see the lights. Further into the chapter is where I actually begun to like Clary and Jace as characters but then BAM, chaos strikes and I dislike them again – and all their different names just confuse me: Clarissa/Clary, Jace/ Jonathan Christoper, Fray/Fairchild/Morgenstern/Wayland!?!?! I just know for a fact it’s going to get even more confusing. Bring it on.

My wish for this book is that it had included a cut-back chapter to the institute while Clary was in Renwicks, after all Alec is just dying and I had GREAT concern as to how Isabelle was coping,ย especially with the lack of, well everybody; andย what about Magnus? What spells was he using and how was he feeling looking at poor Alec!? A cut-back chapter would have broken up what I thought to be a very drawn-out chapter of the book (a lot of people telling other people to shut up), ย but I suppose that’s where all the story came together and a split chapter may have interfered with the flow.ย A final point about this chapter (22:425) is that, lets not forget that Alec and Jace are parabatai. Surly Jace should be feeling some kind of way for Alec’s life, because if he dies part of Jace dies too. But what do I know, I’m just a mundie.

Over all I am thoroughly satisfied and can’t wait for City of Ashes!

Star Rating /5: โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
– Great story, needed more of Magnus Bane.
Book Hangover /5: โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†โ˜†
–ย Couldn’t stop thinking about their world, but again it was more about Magnus rather than the main characters.

Make sure to comment below your thoughts, I’d really love to know!

Bradley ๐Ÿค“

 

5 thoughts on “The Mortal Instruments Review 1/6

Leave a Reply

