Books I wish I liked but didn’t

One lifetime just isn’t enough time to read all the books I would like to and the probability of me liking every book would be close to zero. I’ve read a countless number of books, which have gave me countless hours of enjoyment but there are a select few that I wish I could have enjoyed more! I bring to you the ‘books I wish I liked but didn’t’.

THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE

TTTW

The debut novel of American author Audrey Niffenegger, published in 2003. The Time Traveler’s Wife is a love story about a man with a genetic disorder that causes him to time travel unpredictably, and about his wife, an artist, who has to cope with his frequent absences and dangerous experiences.

When I first read this book I gave it a rating of 3/5, which shows I don’t completely hate it. It made me laugh, it made me cry and that what I expect from a book! My only problem  is that the writing style doesn’t change the characters voices over the time travelled. There was literally no difference between young and old Henry or young and old Clare or even between Henry and Clare! It made it somewhat impossible to keep track of who was speaking never mind when you add in the fact that you’re in another time period too. I love the characters and I love the story but the book just ain’t for me.

 

GONE GIRL

GG

Gone Girl is a thriller novel by the writer Gillian Flynn, published in June 2012. The novels main focus is on the marriage and relationship of Nick and Amy Dunne. The novel alternates between view points of this couple and the  suspense comes from whether Nick is involved in the sudden disappearance of his wife.

This story is DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA. If you love a good psychological thriller then this is the book for you! If you like very unlikable characters then this too is the book for you. Nick and ‘The Amazing” Amy are despicable human beings and its really hard to root for either of them – I think of them as very similar to Tom and Daisy from The Great Gatsby, “careless people”, the difference being I actually loved that book. There is little you can do when you just don’t relate to a character and unfortunately for this book I couldn’t relate to anyone. I would definitely rate this book 1/5. Sorry Gillian.

 

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

TGOTT

The Girl on the Train (2015) is a psychological thriller novel by British author Paula Hawkins. Rachel Watson; drink-addled, unemployed, heartbroken. Her daily, soulless commute from suburbia to Euston only heightens the agony, the journey repetitively taking her past the scene of her old life, a life now occupied by another woman. In her pain, Rachel builds a fantasy, but when that fantasy is shattered by her witness to something no-one should ever see, everything she knows has to change and no longer will she just be The Girl on the Train.

Rachel is the worst character I’ve ever had the displeasure to read. I know there’s a reason as to why she is the way she is but she is infuriating. She never helps herself and after the second chapter I couldn’t even feel sorry for her. It wasn’t until the final two chapters when the book picked up pace and actually ended on a high – the ending was amazing! (but it was a looooong slog to get there).

If you have read all of these books you will also realise they share common features: they all use multiple PoV, which unless you have throughly defined characters are always a pain to read. They also change tenses, which again without being well explained is difficult to follow.

There you have it my books I wish i liked but didn’t. Let me know your thoughts? What books do you wish you liked but didn’t?

Bradley 🤓

*synopses were taking from Waterstones, Goodreads and Wiki

 

 

5 thoughts on “Books I wish I liked but didn’t

  1. allaboutbuk says:

    Great idea for a post 👍 May have to
    Look through my own collection and remind myself of those I thought I’d like but didn’t. I’m terrible at remembering the titles!
    But I have to disagree on your choices. In my opinion I loved all the books. I love a tense thriller with alternate POVs though agree they are sometimes hard to follow.
    Interesting that all 3 that you chose are books that have been adapted to screen. Have you seen the films? What did you think of the story in this format? Personally loved both adaptations of the first two (though the books are always better in my opinion) but the third was absolutely terrible due to the change in setting. Now I’m off to look through my collection. Briony 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bradleysbooknook says:

      Ah thank you! Get browsing, I’d love to see which make your list. The only film I enjoyed was the Time Traveler’s Wife, the others weren’t that great. But let’s remember, it’s not that I hated the books totally, I just didn’t enjoy them as much as I wished 😆 Bradley

      Like

Leave a Reply

